Modest Hiccup Reviews

Blog Tour ➤ September 23, 2022

Direwood

As a reminder, my Direwood review contains links to affiliate sites. Clicking and purchasing at these links helps fund A Modest Hiccup. I’m excited to join TBR and Beyond Tours‘ Direwood Tour! Please check out the…

Read More
Book Review ➤ September 12, 2022

It Looks Like Us

As a reminder, my It Looks Like Us review contains links to affiliate sites. Clicking and purchasing at these links helps fund A Modest Hiccup. I’m excited to join TBR and Beyond Tours’ It Looks Like…

Read More
Blog Tour ➤ August 28, 2022

Belladonna

Belladonna delivered on every bit of the hype and buzz it promised. As corny as it is to say that you can judge this book by its cover – you can!

Read More
NetGalley ➤ August 23, 2022

A Venom Dark and Sweet Review

A lyrical and slowly steeped end to the Book of Tea duology. We re-join Ning and Kang as they stand on different sides of the events at the end of A Magic Steeped in Poison….

Read More
NetGalley ➤ August 15, 2022

Blood and Moonlight

With characterizations as beautiful as the cover, this is a book to take time to get lost in and savor – not speed run through to get to the next chapter. Perfect for fans of Serpent & Dove who like their fantasy with a side of serial killer.

Read More
Blog Tour ➤ July 28, 2022

Violet Made of Thorns

As a reminder, my Violet Made of Thorns review contains links to affiliate sites. Clicking and purchasing at these links helps fund A Modest Hiccup. I’m excited to join TBR and Beyond Tours’ Violet Made of…

Read More
Book Review ➤ July 26, 2022

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau brings the lush and vivid storytelling I fell in love with in Mexican Gothic and adds a heaping helping of sci-fi and historical goodness. I am convinced Moreno-Garcia can write any genre she wants to exquisitely at this point.

Read More
Blog Tour ➤ June 7, 2022

Hell Followed With Us

I am obsessed with this stunning book. Filled with absolutely legend-level LQBTQ+ representation, this is a book that will stick with you and demand a reread.

Read More
Blog Tour ➤ June 4, 2022

The Merciless Ones

As a reminder, my The Merciless Ones review contains links to affiliate sites. Clicking and purchasing at these links helps fund A Modest Hiccup. I’m excited to join TBR and Beyond Tours’ The Merciless Ones Tour!…

Read More
Blog Tour ➤ May 30, 2022

Summer’s Edge

As a reminder, my Summer’s Edge review contains links to affiliate sites. Clicking and purchasing at these links helps fund A Modest Hiccup. I’m excited to help kick off TBR and Beyond Tours’ Summer’s Edge Tour!…

Read More
Blog Tour ➤ May 16, 2022

Of Legends and Roses

This book solidified my love and adoration for Xiran Jay Zhao. I don’t know if there is a “will read anything they write including if they issue a copy of the phone book” list, but I would certainly be on it.

Read More
NetGalley ➤ May 11, 2022

Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor

This book solidified my love and adoration for Xiran Jay Zhao. I don’t know if there is a “will read anything they write including if they issue a copy of the phone book” list, but I would certainly be on it.

Read More
NetGalley ➤ May 10, 2022

Siren Queen

As a reminder, my Siren Queen review contains links to affiliate sites. Clicking and purchasing at these links helps fund A Modest Hiccup. Goodreads blurb: From award-winning author, Nghi Vo comes a dazzling new novel where…

Read More
A Magic Steeped in Poison Review Blog Header

A Magic Steeped in Poison

February 14, 2022

With a plot unfurling like the steam off a freshly brewed cup of tea, A Magic Steeped in Poison is an instant must-read for fantasy lovers. Judy I. Lin creates a world filled with palace intrigue, a MAGICAL tea-brewing competition, and deftly woven in inspiration from Chinese history and mythology.

Keep Reading → Iron Widow Review

Iron Widow Review

February 12, 2022

Goodreads Blurb: The boys of Huaxia dream of pairing up with girls to pilot Chrysalises, giant transforming robots that can battle the mecha aliens that lurk beyond the Great Wall. It doesn’t matter that the girls often die from the mental strain. When 18-year-old Zetian offers herself up as a concubine-pilot, it’s to assassinate the …

Iron Widow Review Read More »

Keep Reading →

The Thirteenth Hour

February 2, 2022

Excited for my stop on The Write Reads Blog Tour for The Thirteenth Hour! I grabbed my copy of The Thirteenth Hour by Trudie Skies for free in exchange for an honest review, thank you so much for including me in the tour! Blurb: When the saints fail, the sinners step up. Cruel gods rule …

The Thirteenth Hour Read More »

Keep Reading →

Misrule

January 31, 2022

The only thing that I didn’t like about this book is the fact that I can only read it for the first time, once. The worst part about finally breaking a curse is when, surprise! a new one is right there to fill that space. Kind of like when you finally clear your inbox and then everyone starts replying all back.

Keep Reading → Malice Review Cover

Malice

January 29, 2022

As a reminder, my Malice review contains links to affiliate sites. Clicking and purchasing at these links helps fund A Modest Hiccup. Goodreads Blurb: A princess isn’t supposed to fall for an evil sorceress. But in this darkly magical retelling of “Sleeping Beauty,” true love is more than a simple fairy tale. Once upon a time, there was …

Malice Read More »

Keep Reading →

The Liars Beneath: Review

January 27, 2022

Excited to take part in a Release Day Book Tour with Turn the Page Tours and share my The Liars Beneath review! You can check out reviews from my fellow hosts here. As a reminder, my reviews feature affiliate links that may earn me a commission (which helps power this blog!). Blurb: After a tragic …

The Liars Beneath: Review Read More »

Keep Reading →

Burn Our Bodies Down

January 25, 2022

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ Where to begin?! The unraveling of the mystery that is Margot’s family’s past seems like the start of a classic family drama, but there is more than meets the eye here! As Margot follows the promise of an old photo towards Phalene, she starts to discover certain family secrets that should have stayed buried.

Keep Reading →

Little Bird

January 21, 2022

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Little Bird is the book you wish you had on hand the last time you found yourself in the aftermath of a great loss. I initially wanted to read Little Bird because of that gorgeous cover and it was wonderfully fitting that I finished this book at midnight. Horror readers will likely think this one is a little tame, but this is the perfect book for those looking to dip their toe into horror without having to sleep with the light on.

Keep Reading →

Book Tour: The Haunting of Black River Forest, by Jaydeep Shah

January 20, 2022

Spotlighting this unique horror adventure short story as my stop on The Haunting of Black River Forest blog tour. You can visit other hosts and read more reviews here. Thank you to the wonderful Lola’s Book Tours for arranging this tour! Blurb: A forest of blood and corpses. The land of a cold-blooded psychopath. In …

Book Tour: The Haunting of Black River Forest, by Jaydeep Shah Read More »

Keep Reading →

A Flicker in the Dark Review

January 11, 2022

As a reminder, my A Flicker in the Dark review contains links to affiliate sites. Clicking and purchasing at these links can earn me money helps fund A Modest Hiccup. I have trust issues with books that get optioned into TV shows before they are even released – especially thrillers. Stacy Willingham’s A Flicker in …

A Flicker in the Dark Review Read More »

Keep Reading →

The Girls Are All So Nice Here

December 17, 2021

Goodreads Blurb: Two former best friends return to their college reunion to find that they’re being circled by someone who wants revenge for what they did ten years before-and will stop at nothing to get it-in this shocking psychological thriller about ambition, toxic friendship, and deadly desire. The Girls Are All So Nice Here opens when …

The Girls Are All So Nice Here Read More »

Keep Reading →

Please Join Us

December 15, 2021

As a reminder, my Please Join Us review contains links to affiliate sites. Clicking and purchasing at these links helps fund A Modest Hiccup. Blurb from Simon & Schuster: At thirty-nine, Nicole Mueller’s life is on the rocks. Her once brilliant law career is falling apart. She and her husband, Dan, are soon to be forced out of …

Please Join Us Read More »

Keep Reading →

The Girl of Dorcha Wood

December 9, 2021

I knew I wanted to read The Girl of Dorcha Wood as soon as I saw the cover and, thanks to The Write Reads, I can now count myself among the Kristin Ward superfans! I am so appreciative of The Write Reads team for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour! Blurb: Treacherous. Evil. …

The Girl of Dorcha Wood Read More »

Keep Reading →

You’ll Be the Death of Me

December 5, 2021

Absolutely thrilled (pun only slightly intended) to have the opportunity to review the latest twist-filled mystery from Karen McManus. Thank you to The Write Reads for including me in the Ultimate Blog Tour and to NetGalley and Penguin Books for the digital ARC! Set your cell phone to Do Not Disturb and buckle up, the …

You’ll Be the Death of Me Read More »

Keep Reading →

A Far Wilder Magic

December 3, 2021 | NetGalley

Synopsis When Margaret Welty spots the legendary hala, the last living mythical creature, she knows the Halfmoon Hunt will soon follow. Whoever is able to kill the hala will earn fame and riches, and unlock an ancient magical secret. If Margaret wins the hunt, it may finally bring her mother home. While Margaret is the …

A Far Wilder Magic Read More »

Keep Reading →